Skip to content

Calendar Items Sync Special Patterns: Attendees Lists, Private Items, Items Unsharing and Deletion

Attendees Lists

Сalendar items sync between MS Exchange and Salesforce does not always follow the one-to-one mirroring pattern (i.e. when items in MS Exchange/Outlook and Salesforce are reciprocally synchronized). Instead, different rules are applied to Salesforce-to-Exchange and Exchange-to-Salesforce items sync to ensure that no attendees are lost from an event in MS Exchange/Outlook.

Specifically, if you update a calendar item’s list of attendees:

  • When a new attendee is added to an event in Salesforce: he/she will be added to the matching Exchange item, with Unknown attendance status.

  • When an attendee is removed from an event in Salesforce: no changes will be made in the matching Exchange item’s attendees list.

  • When a new attendee is added to a calendar item in Exchange: he/she will be added to the matching Salesforce item, with a corresponding attendance status (see the note below for more information) .

  • When an attendee is removed from an event in Exchange: he/she will be removed from the matching Salesforce item, regardless of the attendance status.

In addition to that, due to the specifics of MS Exchange’s status assigning mechanisms, when you create a calendar item, its attendees’ statuses can only be properly synced from Exchange to Salesforce but not the other way around:

  • When a calendar item is created in MS Exchange/Outlook and then synced with Salesforce, its attendees’ statuses will be transferred properly.

  • When an event is created in Salesforce and then synced with MS Exchange/Outlook, the attendees’ statuses will be set to Unknown.

Note

While Accepted or Declined attendance statuses are transferred from Exchange to Salesforce exactly, NoResponseReceived, Tentative, Organizer, Unknown statuses are all changed to Unknown.

Private Calendar Items

Calendar items flagged as private are handled according to the following rules:

  • When a private calendar item is assigned the Salesforce category in MS Exchange: the event is shared in Salesforce without the Private attribute
  • When a private calendar item is shared in Salesforce by clicking the Save button: the event is shared in Salesforce without the Private attribute
  • When events auto-sharing is enabled, private events are not automatically saved in Salesforce

Item Unsharing / Deletion Patterns
The following table lists the outcomes of different actions on specific types of calendar items:

Unshared in Exchange means unassigning of the Salesforce category from an item; in this case SmartCloud Connect will restore this category automatically.

Special SCC customization removed means removal of the Add-In from your email client . The Master Category list is the list of categories used in MS Outlook.

Detailed explanation of specific use cases

The events handling patterns are governed by the principle of making user calendars in Salesforce and in MS Outlook one-to-one identical through SmartCloud Connect synchronization, with several exceptions caused either by convenience of use considerations or specific limitations in MS Outlook. One of the key factors to be considered is whether an event has attendees or not as that affects events processing in MS Outlook.

Use case 1: applies both to events which have attendees and ones which have no attendees

If you create a calendar item in MS Outlook and share it in Salesforce, then remove the “Salesforce” category from the event in MS Outlook: the event will not be removed from Salesforce and the “Salesforce” category will be automatically reassigned to it on the following sync session. This behavior is defined by an events handling policy that allows deleting events from Salesforce only if they were deleted from MS Outlook, not just unshared.

Use case 2: applies to events which have attendees

If you are an event’s owner (set in the Assigned To event field) and organizer in Salesforce and the event got synchronized with your MS Outlook calendar (down-synced) by SmartCloud Connect, and then you delete it in Salesforce: the event will be removed from Salesforce but will remain in MS Outlook, the “Salesforce” category will be unassigned from it. This behavior is determined by a limitation in MS Exchange.

Use case 3: applies to events which have no attendees

  1. If you create a calendar item in MS Outlook and share it in Salesforce, then delete it from Salesforce: the event will be removed from Salesforce but will remain in MS Outlook, the “Salesforce” category will be unassigned from it. This behavior is determined by a limitation in MS Exchange.

  2. If you create a calendar item in MS Outlook and share it in Salesforce, then delete it in MS Outlook: the event will be removed from Salesforce as well (up-synced), to maintain one-to-one calendars synchronization.

  3. If you create a calendar item in MS Outlook and share it in Salesforce, and then the event anyhow leaves the sliding time window monitored by sync: the “Salesforce” category will be unassigned from it in MS Outlook; no changes made to the event in MS Outlook will be reflected in Salesforce. This behavior is defined by the sliding time window mechanism.

  4. If you create an event in Salesforce and it gets “down-synced” to MS Outlook, then you unassign the “Salesforce” category from it in MS Outlook: the event will not be removed from Salesforce and the “Salesforce” category will be automatically reassigned to it on the following sync session. This behavior is defined by an events handling policy that allows deleting events from Salesforce only if they were deleted from MS Outlook, not just unshared.

  5. If you create an event in Salesforce and it gets “down-synced” to MS Outlook, then you delete it in MS Outlook: the event will be deleted both from MS Outlook and from Salesforce, to maintain one-to-one calendars synchronization.

  6. If you create an event in Salesforce and it gets “down-synced” to MS Outlook and then the event anyhow leaves the sliding time window monitored by sync: it will be automatically deleted in MS Outlook but will remain in Salesforce. This behavior is defined by the sliding time window mechanism.

  7. If you create an event in Salesforce and it gets “down-synced” to MS Outlook, then you delete it in Salesforce: the event will be deleted both from MS Outlook and from Salesforce, to maintain one-to-one calendars synchronization.

  8. If you create an event in Salesforce and it gets “down-synced” to MS Outlook, then SmartCloud Connect Add-In gets deactivated: the event will remain in Salesforce but will be automatically deleted in MS Outlook.

Note

Please note that major SmartCloud Connect updates may also result in deletion from MS Outlook of events which belong to the use case 8, however this only concerns events which occurred in the past. This is required by certain synchronization engine updates.