Skip to content

Managing Organizations in SmartCloud Connect Administration Panel

Important

To access SmartCloud Connect Admin panel special access permissions are required. To request these permissions for your organization contact us by email at [email protected]

In SmartCloud Connect Administration Panel context, an Organization is a group of Users with shared basic settings which cooperate in a shared Salesforce space.

The Organizations tab ofthe Administration Panel provides mechanisms for defining synchronization configuration for an Organization.

Note

In the current implementation there is no way to limit the access rights for Admin Users, so an assigned Admin User can manage users in all Organizations locally.

Organizations List View

On the Organizations tab, you can see the following columns:

  • ID (this column is hidden by default)
  • Name
  • Mailbox Access Type
  • Synchronization Status
  • Actions

A filter by each column can be applied to the list. To do that, click the Expand more icon next to a column name and select the action you need:

  • Sort Ascending
  • Sort Descending
  • Remove Sort
  • Hide Column

Click the ☰ (Menu) icon on the right to add or remove columns; you can also clear all filters by selecting the Clear All Filters item in this menu.

Note

No bulk actions on Organizations are supported.

If synchronization is enabled, organization info on the list is displayed in black font color. If synchronization is suspended for the whole Organization – it is displayed in red font color.

Via the Organizations tab you can perform the following tasks:

  • Create Organizations
  • View and edit Organizations’ details.
  • Delete Organizations

Creating Organizations

To create an organization:

  1. Go to the Organizations tab

  2. In the upper-right corner of the page, click New

  3. Do the following:

    3.1. Fill in the Name field

    3.2. Fill in the External Id field (the value becomes read-only and cannot be changed later).

    3.3. From the Mail Access Type drop-down list, select the mailbox access type (Microsoft Exchange Direct Logon or Microsoft Exchange Impersonation) for the organization:

4. Click Save in the upper-right corner to save the changes. To cancel the changes, click Cancel.

Editing Organizations

To modify an organization:

  1. Go to the Organizations tab

  2. To edit or view an Organization, select one from the list; the following detailed information will appear:

  1. Edit the necessary fields
  2. Click Save

Viewing Organization Subtabs

There are the following subtabs on the Organizations tab which contain relevant sets of actions.

Note

the columns in the subtabs can be added or removed via the columns actions drop-down list summoned by clicking the ☰ (Menu) icon.

Users – the subtab displays the list of users which belong to the organization.

The subtab includes a number of columns (these can be added or removed via the menu summoned by clicking the ☰ (Menu) icon).

  • Name
  • E-Mail for Notifications
  • Organization
  • Plan
  • Account Logon
  • Synchronization Disabled
  • Mailbox Status
  • Created On
  • Actions. The following actions are available:

Edit User. Access and edit the User.

Delete. Delete the User. Please note that Users with initialized mailbox cannot be deleted.

Enable Synchronization. Enable synchronization for a User.

Disable Synchronization. Suspend synchronization for the user. If the synchronization is suspended for an ordinary User, it can be resumed from the User Dashboard.

Force Synchronization. Standard synchronization interval is set to 30 minutes. The user can manually trigger synchronization outside of the standard sync schedule by selecting the Force Synchronization action, but no sooner than 1 minute after the last attempt to trigger a sync. This is done to avoid service overload in case of multiple consecutive “Force sync” requests.

Reset Mailbox. Request Smart Cloud Connect to remove user customization and keep synchronization disabled. Once synchronization is enabled again, the first synchronization attempt will apply customization to the user’s mailbox.

Check User's Exchange Impersonated Access. Appears if Exchange Impersonation is set up for a user; initiates a check of impersonated mailbox access.
  • Disabled Due To An Error (hidden by default)
  • Updated On (hidden by default)

Statistics – the subtab displays statistics about the last synchronization session for each User in the Organization

You can check all the details about the item you need by clicking it or the Open Job icon under the Actions column. The subtab has the following columns that can be added or removed via the menu summoned by clicking the ☰ (Menu) icon:

  • Job ID (hidden by default)

  • User

  • Synchronization Start Date

  • Synchronization End Date

  • Status

  • Synchronization Scope

  • Changes

  • Issues

  • Error Category (E Category)

  • Error Source (E Source)

  • Message

  • Exception (hidden by default)

  • Actions. The following actions are available:

Download Logs. Click this icon to download the session-related log (in a .zip archive).

Open Job. Select this icon to open a session’s description and details. Check the corresponding topic for details.

Activity – this subtab displays system activities for the current organization

To export the data with detailed activities information to a CSV file, click the Export to CSV button above the second column. Wait until the file downloads and then you may open it in Microsoft Excel.

Possible activity types are:

  • Organization is created
  • Organization’s synchronization is enabled
  • Organization’s synchronization is disabled

The subtab has the following columns that can be added or removed via the menu summoned by clicking the ☰ Menu icon:

  • Date

  • Changed By

  • Type

  • Actions. The following action is available:

Download Logs. Click this icon to download the session-related log (in a .zip archive).

  • Changed By (ID) (hidden by default)

The Activity subtab has the number of rows to show box above the Actions column. The possible values scope is from 0 to 2000. Entering ‘0’ will display all existing rows for selected Organization; ‘60’ is the default value. After setting a value click the blue Refresh button next the box to apply the change.

E-mail Configuration – displays the type of users’ access to mailboxes.

When a new organization is created, specify the type of mailbox access to be used for its users. When the access type is selected and configured, it is applied to all users in the organization. The users can only use the defined type to access their mailboxes.
When a new Organization is created, specify the type of mailbox access to be used for the Organization’s Users. When the access type is selected and configured, it is applied to all Users in the Organization. Users can only use the defined access type to access their mailboxes. You can edit the user’s name and mailbox settings which were specified during the provisioning process or defined by the organization to which the user belongs.

There are two possible options:

Microsoft Exchange Direct Logon If the users in the organization access their Microsoft Exchange mailboxes directly, specify the direct logon access type for the organization. No additional configuration is required on Organization level.

Microsoft Exchange Impersonation Microsoft Exchange Impersonation is used in scenarios in which a single account must access many accounts. Before setting up the Exchange Impersonation access type, you must define the Exchange EWS URL, impersonated account login, and password.

Deleting Organizations

Please note that you can delete an organization only if there are no users with initialized Exchange Storage in it. If at least one user is initialized, you must delete the user first, and then the organization. After you delete an organization, all users that belong to this organization will be deleted as well.
Also note that you cannot delete the default organization.

To delete an existing organization:

1. Go to the Organizations tab

  1. From the list of organizations, select the organization you want to delete, and then click the Delete icon

3. In the confirmation message that appears, click Delete