Skip to content

Managing SmartCloud Connect Customizations

As a SmartCloud Connect Admin or user with special permissions, apart from being able to set up your own customization, you can push and retrieve customizations to and from your colleagues. You can push customizations individually or to all SmartCloud Connect users in your Salesforce org.

Important

please note that in the latest versions of SmartCloud Connect customization settings can also be exported to / imported from a .json file. To do that, open Customization page and click More▼ at the top of the page, then select Import from a file or Export to a file.

The older approach which is recommended for SmartCloud Connect mass deployment and administration, is pushing/retrieving the settings directly from user to user.

Pushing your customization to other users

To push your customization to your colleagues, do the following:

1. Click the Menu button on the home screen and then click Customization.

2. On the Customization page, click Send this customization to my colleagues.

3. By default, the Send this customization to my colleagues screen displays all Salesforce users that are visible to you based on your permissions. Select the Only users of SmartCloud Connect checkbox to only display users who logged in to SmartCloud Connect with their Salesforce credentials (or users who received a pushed customization at least once).

Note

Save your customization before pushing it to other users. If you modified your customization without saving, these changes will not be reflected in the recipient’s Add-In.

4. Use the search box to filter by Salesforce User Profiles or by name.

5. Select the user(s) you want to push your customization to from the list. Tick the Select all checkbox to pick all displayed users.

Note

now you can also apply filters to select which users to export the customization to, according to user name, email address, or profile type.

  1. Click {Number} Selected users to push your customization to selected users.

7. To push your customization to all Salesforce users, click All users in Salesforce org.

  1. Wait while SmartCloud Connect pushes the customization to all selected users.

SmartCloud connect will schedule a customization pushing process. The wait time depends on server load and the number of selected users.

You will be notified via email once the pushing process is complete, and the customization recipient(s) will receive a notification in their SmartCloud Connect Add-In and will be asked to restart Outlook. After the restart, the pushed customization will be fully applied to their Add-In.

Retrieving a pushed customization

To retrieve existing customizations from your colleagues, do the following:

  1. On the Customization page, click Get ready customization from my colleagues.

  2. Select the Only users of SmartCloud Connect checkbox to only view Salesforce users with SmartCloud Connect accounts (or users who received a pushed customization at least once).

  3. Use the search box to filter by Salesforce user types or by name or select the user from the list.

  1. Click on a user to retrieve their customization.

Note

We recommend saving your customization in its current state before retrieving your colleague’s settings - that way you will be able to discard all changes and revert back to your original customization If you accidentally selected a wrong user or if the customization is not suitable for your needs.

5. Wait while SmartCloud Connect updates your settings.

  1. Click Save in the top-right corner of the page to apply changes.

  1. To discard any changes made to your customization, click Discard changes before saving. Once the customization is saved, you can only reset to default customization settings.

Once the synchronization is complete, restart Outlook to view the changes.

Note

Retrieving customizations is not an ongoing process - any further changes your colleague makes to their customization will not be reflected in your SmartCloud Connect Add-In, i.e. you will save the customization in its current state and it will not be updated automatically. To use their updated customization, retrieve it from the Get ready customization from my colleague screen once more.