Skip to content

Managing SmartCloud Connect Add-In Customizations

As a SmartCloud Connect Admin or user with special permissions, apart from being able to set up your own customization, you can push and retrieve customizations to and from your colleagues. You can push customizations individually or to all SmartCloud Connect users in your Salesforce org.

Important

please note that in the latest SmartCloud Connect updates customization settings can also be exported to / imported from a .json file. To do that, open Customization page and click More▼ at the top of the page, then select Import from a file or Export to a file.

The older approach which is recommended for SmartCloud Connect mass deployment and administration, is pushing/retrieving the settings directly from user to user.

Pushing your customization to other users in your Salesfroce org

To push your customization to your colleagues, do the following:

  1. Click the Menu button on the home screen and then click Customization.

  1. On the Customization page, click Share my customization settings with colleagues.

  2. By default, the Share my customization settings with colleagues screen displays all Salesforce users that are visible to you based on your permissions. Select the Only users of SmartCloud Connect checkbox to only display users who logged in to SmartCloud Connect with their Salesforce credentials (or users who received a pushed customization at least once).

Note

Save your customization before pushing it to other users. If you modified your customization without saving, these changes will not be reflected in the recipient’s Add-In.

  1. Use the search box to filter by Salesforce User Profiles or by name.

  1. Select the user(s) you want to push your customization to from the list. Tick the Select all checkbox to choose all users on the list.

Note

Now you can also apply filters to select which users to export the customization to, according to user name, email address, or profile type.

  1. Click the button {Number} Selected users to push your customization to selected users. or, to push your customization to all users in your Salesforce org, click All users in Salesforce org.

Tip

You can close the Customization settings window after initiating a customization push, the pushing will be running in the background on server side and you will receive an email notification when it is complete, and the customization recipient(s) will receive a notification in their SmartCloud Connect Add-In and will be asked to restart Outlook. After Outlook restart, the pushed customization will be fully applied to their Add-In.

Retrieving a pushed customization

To retrieve existing customizations from your colleagues, do the following:

  1. On the Customization page, click Get customization settings from a colleague.

  2. Select the Only users of SmartCloud Connect checkbox to only view Salesforce users with SmartCloud Connect accounts (or users who received a pushed customization at least once).

  3. Use the search box to filter by Salesforce user types or by name or select the user from the list.

  1. Click on a user to retrieve their customization.

Note

We recommend saving your customization in its current state before retrieving your colleague’s settings - that way you will be able to discard all changes and revert back to your original customization If you accidentally selected a wrong user or if the customization does not suit your needs.

  1. Wait while SmartCloud Connect updates the settings.

  2. Click Save in the top-right corner of the page to apply changes.

  1. To discard any changes made to your customization, click Discard changes before saving. Once the customization is saved, you can only reset to default customization settings.

Once the synchronization is complete, restart Outlook to view the changes.

Note

Retrieving customizations is not an ongoing process - any further changes the exporter makes to their customization settings will not be reflected in the importer’s SmartCloud Connect Add-In, that is, customization gets imported in its current state and it will not be updated automatically. To use the updated customization, the importer must retrieve it from the Get customization settings from my colleague dialog once more.