Calendar Items Sync Special Patterns - Attendees Lists, Private Items, Item Unsharing and Deletion
Сalendar items sync between MS Exchange and Salesforce does not exactly follow the usual mirroring pattern (when matching items in MS Exchange/Outlook and Salesforce are reciprocally synchronized). Instead, different rules are applied to Salesforce-to-Exchange and Exchange-to-Salesforce items sync to ensure that no attendees are lost from an event in MS Exchange/Outlook.
Specifically, if you update a calendar item’s list of attendees:
When a new attendee is added to an event in Salesforce: he/she will be added to the matching Exchange item, with Unknown attendance status.
When an attendee is removed from an event in Salesforce: no changes will be made in the matching Exchange item’s attendees list.
When a new attendee is added to a calendar item in Exchange: he/she will be added to the matching Salesforce item, with a corresponding attendance status (see the note below for more information) .
When an attendee is removed from an event in Exchange: he/she will be removed from the matching Salesforce item, regardless of the attendance status.
In addition to that, due to the specifics of MS Exchange’s status assigning mechanisms, when you create a calendar item, its attendees’ statuses can only be properly synced from Exchange to Salesforce but not the other way around:
- When a calendar item is created in MS Exchange/Outlook and then synced with Salesforce, its attendees’ statuses will be transferred properly.
!!! note “Note” While Accepted or Declined attendance statuses are transferred from Exchange to Salesforce exactly, NoResponseReceived, Tentative, Organizer, Unknown statuses are all changed to Unknown.
- When an event is created in Salesforce and then synced with MS Exchange/Outlook, the attendees’ statuses will be set to Unknown.
Private Calendar Items
Calendar items flagged as private are handled according to the following rules:
- When a private calendar item is assigned the Salesforce category in MS Exchange: the event is shared in Salesforce without the Private attribute
- When a private calendar item is shared in Salesforce by clicking the Save button: the event is shared in Salesforce without the Private attribute
- When events auto-sharing is enabled, private events are not automatically saved in Salesforce
Item Unsharing / Deletion Patterns
The following table lists the outcomes of different actions on specific types of calendar items:
Unshared in Exchange means unassigning of the Salesforce category from an item; in this case SmartCloud Connect will restore this category automatically.
Special SCC customization removed means removal of the Add-In from your email client . The Master Category list is the list of categories used in MS Outlook.