Synchronization of Contacts

SmartCloud Connect synchronization engine provides the background synchronization of CRM contacts between Outlook and Salesforce. Once enabled the synchronization occurs every 30 minutes.

Enabling the synchronization of Contacts

To enable the background synchronization of contacts go to the synchronization Dashboard (see Opening the Dashboard), select Sync Settings -> Filters and enable the Synchronization switch on Contacts pane:

In order to define which Salesforce view will SmartCloud Connect use to define the list of Contacts to be visible for synchronization, click CUSTOMIZE on Contacts pane and select the view:

More details on how to configure what objects to synchronize are here: Choosing What to Synchronize

Personal and Salesforce Contacts

When Contacts synchronization is enabled, SmartCloud Connect creates a separate folder "Salesforce Contacts". This folder will be synchronized with Salesforce, i.e.all contacts visible by the selected view ("My Contacts" by default) will be saved to this folder after the first synchronization:

All contacts in Salesforce Contacts folder are automatically marked with Salesforce category.

Note: personal contacts will not be affected in any way and will stay in Contacts folder.

Synchronization of changes

Addition of a Contact in Outlook

There are several ways to create a Salesforce contact directly from Outlook.

Create in Salesforce Contacts folder

While in Salesforce Folder  click New Contact, fill in the contact's data and save:

SmartCloud Connect will mark the new Contact with Salesforce category and will initiate its’ addition to Salesforce server. This Contact will also be marked with Salesforce category.

Drag and drop a Contact from Contacts folder

If you already have a created Contact that you need to share with Salesforce in your Outlook folder Contacts, you can drag and drop it to Salesforce Contacts.

Mark a Contact with Salesforce category

If you already have a created Contact that you need to share with Salesforce in your Outlook folder Contacts, you can mark it with Salesforce category:

SmartCloud Connect will mark the new Contact with Salesforce category and will initiate its’ addition to Salesforce server. This contact will also be moved to Salesforce Contacts Outlook folder.

Contact addition workflow

When a Contact is created and synchronized from Outlook to Salesforce the following workflow is followed in order to find an Account to link this Contact to:

1. Company field value from this Contact is used to query the Accounts in Salesforce.

2. If there is a direct match with an Account - the Account is used to link this Contact to. In case there are several Accounts found, the one with the earliest creation date is selected.

3. If there is no direct match, the Company field value is searched as a sub-string of Account names in Salesforce, and in case there only one Account found - it is used to link this Contact to (otherwise Account is considered not found by Company field value - see below)

4. If no matches with Company field value is found among the Account names in Salesforce - a Contact with empty Account is attempted to be created in Salesforce.

In case a different workflow is used for Contacts creation in your Salesforce instance (additional required fields, pre-defaulted values, auto-link to a specific Account, etc), please contact [email protected] with the corresponding configuration request.

Modification of a Contact in Outlook

When a Contact from Salesforce Contacts folder in Outlook is modified, the changes are saved to the corresponding contact in Salesforce  after the next synchronization.

Deletion of a Contact in Outlook

When an existing Contact is deleted from Salesforce Contacts folder in Outlook SmartCloud Connect checks the DELETION settings (see Choosing What to Synchronize) and proceeds accordingly:

- if the removal of Contacts is allowed - the Contact gets deleted from Salesforce after the next synchronization

- if the removal of Contacts is forbidden - the Contact gets re-created in Salesforce Contacts folder with the corresponding contact data from Salesforce after the next synchronization

Addition of a Contact in Salesforce

When a new Contact is added in Salesforce and it is visible in the view selected for the synchronization (see above), it appears in Salesforce Contacts folder in Outlook after the next synchronization.

Modification of a Contact in Salesforce

When an existing Contact is modified and saved in Salesforce and it is visible in the view selected for the synchronization (see above), the corresponding contact in Salesforce Contacts folder in Outlook gets updated right after the next synchronization.

Deletion of a Contact in Salesforce

When an existing Contact is deleted in Salesforce, the corresponding contact in Salesforce Contacts folder in Outlook gets removed right after the next synchronization.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us